5 at the Mill - The Prall house
at the John Prall House Stockton NJ May 1- 8, 2018 Opening Sat. May 5th 6-9
Opening Reception with Light Refreshments, Live Music Special Pop-Up performance by River Union Stage
David Caan and Constance Bassett will also open The Moorland Studio. Please make a note of it as the Moorland Studio was omitted in error from the printed version of THAT’s tour map. Both locations are in Stockon, NJ, are both are on route 29, and less than a mile apart.
The historic John Prall Jr. House on Route 29 in Stockton is now part of a state park. On April 24, a decade after buying the circa 1795 stone house and preserving the land around it, New Jersey Conservation Foundation turned the Prall House over to the state Department of Environmental Protection. It’s now officially part of the Prallsville Mills complex at Delaware & Raritan Canal State Park, an early industrial complex that includes a 1790 linseed oil mill, an 1877 gristmill, an 1850 sawmill, a 1900 grain silo, an 1874 railroad trestle, an 1834 canal and several secondary outbuildings. The mill complex was built by John Prall Jr., a local businessman and Revolutionary War veteran, who purchased the site along the Delaware River in the 1790s. Prall built his own home across the road from the mill complex. When the Prall House came on the market in 2005, New Jersey Conservation Foundation bought it to ensure its permanent preservation, using state Green Acres program and Scenic Byways program grants. It was also to serve as a trail-head to the Wickecheoke Creek Preserve. Although the house is now owned by the state and operated by the Delaware River Mill Society, New Jersey Conservation Foundation continues to keep a regional office on the second floor. And the land behind the Prall House still serves as public access to trails along the Wickecheoke Creek.